Gear modifications

Good morning. So winter here in Ohio. Looking at Reflex boot…wondering if an update is needed or trying to do some mods to it. Unfortunately I am not an engineer, nor do I have the appropriate tools to perform huge mods to the Reflex. There are all kinds of tips and suggestions out there. I prefer this sample size for my question.

I have two extra reflex boots. What would be a safe place to start?
Will making mods to a front boot, hardshell really result in better skiing? More buoys?
Does this now make a perfectly reliable and safe, thus far, boot unreliable and unsafe?

School of thought seems to be to flatten the boot bottom from toe to heel, and cut down the height of the cuff. There are other radical mods floating around out there but i am not savvy enough to pull them off.

thoughts? pictures? all welcomed.

I will say the vast majority of reflex boot users do not modify them at all.

A small number more than that will do mild modifications to keep the boot from rocking such as putting a wad of JB weld under the boot with some release agent to bed the shell down to the plate better.

Beyond that I think you’re off down the rabbit hole with people flattening the shell, pinning the cuffs forwards, cutting the lower to make it flex more etc. Do you regularly run 35 and touch 38? If the answer is no I will say they don’t make any difference - and I will tell you if you pin the cuff and get out of position you can force a pre-release when the cuff would have otherwise moved.

1 Like

@half_past, I have been on reflex front since its first iteration way back in the day. Yeah I’m old. I have never made any type of mods to it. However, I ski with guys who have cut down the cuff height and they regularly tell me to do same. I asked why? No real meaningful response that translates to me, meaning “ I don’t get it”.